English (United Kingdom)French (Fr)
 

Temple Adventures Hot

 
Location : India - See the map
Region info : India - East Coast
Temple Adventures

Address : 16, Ramaraja Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone : +919940219449
Website : http://www.templedivers.com
Email : dive@templeadventures.com
Languages spoken : Dutch  •  English  •  French  •  German  •  Local Language  •  Other
Diving agencies : PADI
Courses offered : Dive intro / try dives  •  Open water / beginners course  •  Advanced course  •  Rescue course  •  Divemaster / dive leader  •  Nitrox course  •  Wreck specialty  •  Deep specialty  •  Naturalist specialty  •  Instructor level / IDC  •  Other
General rating
 
User rating
 
Services rating
 
Value for money
 
Safety
 
Professionalism
 
Other courses available : PADI Tec Rec, Sidemount, Deep Diver, Gas mixing and switching, Drift diving, wreck diving, plus all our freediving courses.
Safety equipment available : O2 medical kit  •  Medical kits in boat  •  Medical trained staff  •  DAN affiliation
Dive centers services : Own boat  •  Kids friendly  •  Own vehicles  •  Own air compressor  •  Pool for training  •  Restaurant  •  TV & movies  •  Internet access  •  Underwater photography or video  •  Equipment gear rentals
Technical diving capacity : Nitrox compressor  •  Twin tank rental  •  Trimix services
Type of tank provided : Aluminium 12-13 Lts
Typical tank fill : 210 Bar
Price for 1 dive including equipment and staff/guide : 40 to 49 USD
Price for 1 dive excluding equipment but with staff/guide : 30 to 39 USD
Note: Prices are given for 1 dive to get a price level comparison. However, many dive centers propose ONLY package for 2 or more dives. So we have divided the total price by the number of dives to obtain the price level for 1 dive.
Time to go to the nearest hospital : Less than 5 minutes
Name of the nearest airport city : Chennai, MAA
Average time to reach this airport : Up to 3 hours
Level required : Beginner accepted

Description for the dive shop Temple Adventures

Imagine diving where no one else has before. How many of us are able to say no one has ever seen this place before me? Well, the team at Temple Adventures on the East Coast of India are doing this on a regular basis, and are taking divers to see these new discoveries daily.
Continuing the research and discovery projects of Graham Hancock : we have been diving here since 2007 and have found both amazing reef and marine life, and located and mapped ancient areas of land and structures up to 25,000 years old.
PADI Scuba Diving : we train all our divers to the highest level possible and are proud of all students to pass through our school. We offer a full range of PADI diving courses, from beginner to expert. We also take out qualified divers for guided tours of our underwater sea scapes. There is a great range of corals, lion fish, grouper, kingfish, moray eels, eagle and manta rays, parrot fish, sea snakes, triggerfish, butterflys, angels, bannerfish, crustaceans...... and if you're lucky, even sharks, whale sharks, turtles and dolphins!

The Legendary Months October and March are the best months to Scuba Diving Pondicherry has to offer. Changes in currents produces calm and still waters and 20m-30m visibility at times. We now dive during 2 seasons of the year.
We are open 365 days a year and an extra day every four years too.

It is a pleasure to dive on sites found by the pioneers of diving in Pondicherry. It is also special to find something new, previously never before seen by human eyes. All of our sites are excellent in both marine life and topography.
We train a lot of people to Open Water, prior to their trips overseas, to the Andamans, or for mainland diving. The locals of Pondy, and our regular divers all complete their Advanced Diver certifications, allowing them to experience all of Pondy's spectacular underwater beauty. The deeper areas are reserved for Deep and Tri-Mix divers. We encourage all divers that join us here to take a Nitrox, enriched air course. This enables divers to greatly extend their underwater time, while shortening surface intervals. This certification can be used around the world and is a great asset for years of enjoyable diving. We plan our dive days dependant on the divers attending, experience levels, weather conditions and predicted visibility.
We are based in idilic Pondicherry, where we "Give time a [underwater] break"! Currently dive at more than 20 sites ranging from 5m to 40m depth, with average ocean temperatures of 28 C and visibility up to 40M. We provide training and certification in all PADI scuba diving courses and will guide qualified divers through some of the amazing dive sites in the area. Is the diving good in Pondicherry? Come and see for yourself. Nitrox is here! Choose a mix from 21-40%. Spend more time underwater and less on the surface! Nitrox certification course is taught weekly. Dive into the sea, and experience the thrill of Scuba Diving of India's East Coast!
We have amazing areas of beautiful untouched natural coral reefs, packed with marine life. Experience this for yourself and get your own under the sea picture for your wall or your photo album!! Love your ocean, and she'll love you back in the depth of Pondicherry.

Here at Temple Adventures, India's only active mainland PADI IDC centre, we are ready to help you achieve your goal of a Professional Career in Scuba Diving! Whether you want to teach here in Pondy, Chennai, around India, or even internationally, we can tailor a career development package just for you. We are a Padi 5 Star IDC Dive Resort, and all PADI courses are run by our experienced PADI Instructors aided by qualified assistants. Courses can be taught in English, French, German, Spanish, Yupik, Tamil and Hindi. All course prices include equipment rental, certification, theory materials and loads of fun. We are Scubapro Dealers and licensed equipment servicing and repair experts. From essentials like masks, snorkels and fins to technical sidemount equipment, from dry bags to regulators: we have it all! But not only do we sell it: we first and foremost love to use it, and are happy to share our passion with you by discussing every single piece of gear. You are not only buying new gear: you are getting advice, tips, tricks, experience and friendship! Come and visit our shop to have a look at all the gear available - but until then, check out the list of equipment in our website and prices, and start writing your own Christmas list :) We also have India's first and only PADI Tec Instructors, and the only dive center to do any kind of technical diving in the entire region.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 14 user(s)

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
4.9   (14)
Overall Quality:
 
4.9   (14)
Punctuality:
 
4.9   (14)
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0   (14)
Staff Professionalism:
 
4.9   (14)
Safety Equipment :
 
4.8   (14)
Quality of air (purity):
 
4.9   (14)
Quality of Services:
 
4.9   (14)
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
4.8   (14)
 
Ratings (the higher the better)
  Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?*
  Overall Quality*
  Punctuality*
  Equipment Condition*
  Staff Professionalism*
  Safety Equipment *
  Quality of air (purity)*
  Quality of Services*
  Value for Money / Price Range*
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 

Excellent Centre to Certify

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
4.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Ashok
April 02, 2012
Report this review
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

People are often sceptical of diving off mainland India. Leave your disbelief behind, the TA dive crew are really into showing you some of the fine dive spots that were off the map before they started, while stressing safety and fun. I got my PADI advanced open water card while diving with them and I'm glad that I did that. They have also now introduced NAUI dive courses.

I learnt to handle a variety of different conditions, currents, vis and practice skills and even practice rescue and emergency skills. Their equipment is in good repair and you will not compromise on safety. As they distribute Scuba Pro equipment, they don't make do with old gear, but get new stock in all the time. I hope to dive with them again soon, now that they offer free-diving courses (the only place in India, so far) and the centre is also a great place to mingle with people who love the water, when you're out of it.

 

Excellent Diving Exploration

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Asin
March 18, 2012
Report this review
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Who would have thought South India would have amazing diving?? it is AWESOME!!! Aravind's wall is the highlight, with beautiful reef and soft corals on offer, huge schools and large individual speciemins. Sweet visibility and nice ocean conditions make this area and operation among the top to got to in India. Best on the mainland for sure. Immacualte equipment, great boat, and friendly, experienced staff. AA1111++++ See you all again soon!

 

Advanced student/recreational diver

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Harry Partridge
March 07, 2012
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Temple Adventures' first prioraity is safety; their second and third priorities are safety and safety. This is what I want in a dive centre - no short cuts, just professionals who have my safety foremost - then having a great experience with the confidence and feedom to know that they are looking out for me.

 

For a pleasurable dive experience for beginners and advanced alike

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by jagat kandoi
March 06, 2012
Report this review
 
Last updated: March 06, 2012
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Divers keen on diving will dive anywhere! Having said that, what makes diving the most fun with TA are the super friendly people. And yet no relaxation whatsoever on the safety aspects of diving. Perfectly maintained equipment - and lots of it - is also great. I have been snorkeling and diving in Pondy since a very young age. But the facilities were hard to organize. With the advent of TA in Pondy, we now get to dive at some very interesting spots as well as to pioneer in discovering new spots. True feeling and spirit of adventure. Plus the pleasure of documenting fish life not seen or heard of in these waters before, noting the different sea conditions in different months and seasons, etc adds valuable data for posterity. And TA is great for all categories of divers: beginners, medium and advanced. Kudos to them and wish them the very best for many many years to come.

 

Who let the secret out ?

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by S Patel
March 03, 2012
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Yeah ,who let the secret out. I am a local diver, Diving is to say the least .most amazing here. For a fish and invert nerd, there are new discoveries made regularly. Unidentified critterss, unrecorded creatures, and more are waiting to be found. How I wish TA would not run such a great operation and bring tons of people in my backyard, my sand box, I want to it aaaall for myself. waaah.! the sharks , mantas whalieshark, jellies, sea sneakes, nudies. And now here come TA Divers oh nooo , there goes the neighbourhood. Look at all the 5 stars they are getting, missing only a 5 star cuisine and chef ! dont worry, Vegemite rules !.

 

Great Deep dives

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by dave
March 02, 2012
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I didn't think diving in India would be very good but I was sorely mistaken. The deep dive site at 30- metres was world class with a huge variety of animal life and awesome soft corals. The instructors were heaps of fun and helpful and I really enjoyed the 2 dives. Pondicherry is also awesome so I will definitely be coming back for more scuba diving with these guys.

 

Come for the diving, stay for the fun!

Overall rating: 
 
4.6
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
4.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
4.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
4.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Curt Degler
January 09, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I've enjoyed diving with Temple Adventures and their very friendly and personable staff on multiple occasions and can recommend their operation to both entry level or student divers and those with more advanced skills. The area where they dive is still being explored and it is possible to dive on reefs that literally no one has seen before and certainly you will be one of very few to see this place so come before the rush! My favorite is Aravind's Wall, in about 30 meters of water and dropping to a sandy bottom at about 40 meters in an area with sometimes very strong currents and variable visibility due to a heavy plankton load (rich water) at times. This is for experienced divers and it is possible to dive on many sections of the wall which is about two kilometers long and is home to a large variety of invertebrates and some times very dense fish aggregations. The wall has many crevasses and cuts and some small cavern areas and just about always offers some surprises and excitement. Shallower dives area also possible and can be equally memorable due to the presence of large and friendly grouper populations and equally unexpected encounters with rare marine life like the time we saw over a dozen frogfish on one small dive site! The diving is always in small groups and the staff consist of persons as addicted to the experience of diving as anywhere so it is always fun. They have the latest new Scubapro gear and are quite safety conscious but not overbearing in their attention to this important detail. Topside is a walkable medium sized former French colonial Indian City which is fairly prosperous and safe and has a large expatriot population and also many Indians from other regions due to the presence of the world famous Aurobindo Ashram and Auroville. Pondicherry has a pleasant Mediterranean climate due to its location on the Indian Ocean and a large variety of guesthouses, heritage and star hotels and if you seek a party atmosphere there are some sophisticated clubs that the staff will be happy to show you. Friendly English and French language capable people abound, there is a convenient shopping and native market district and plenty of both Indian and continental restaurants. Did I leave anything out? Oh yeah. I'll be back!

 

Professional and fun.

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
4.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Sanjay Sami
January 05, 2012
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Having dived for over 20 years in various countries and various conditions, I would say without a doubt that Temple Adventures is the dive shop I will guaranteed keep going back to.
The reasons being that they are an organisation that knows how to keep things fun, safe and professional.
These are 3 things rarely found together.
There is so much love for diving, the aquatic world and underwater exploration, that it is contagious.

Highly recommended !

 

Hey, Very Good One!

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
4.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by diverjonna
December 31, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

A very good dive centre! highly recommended to go and try it out!! Good Staff and Equipment!! And once when i diving, the fishes even swam to me and bit my hand!! Awesome!! definitely love it!! Nice interesting indian diving site. Great friendly dive centre, you! have! to! go! there! and! dive! at! least! few! times!! then your indian trip will be more incredible!!!

 

Great peoples, great team, recommended!

Overall rating: 
 
4.8
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
3.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Adrian Peret
December 31, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Strongly recommended go and have fun diving with Temple Adventure. Obviously, peoples make the place here as well.
Great peoples, new equipment, well maintained gas sources. EANx available as well.

 

Excellent i love it India Diving!

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by carpu
December 22, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Well, this dive centre is the most fun dive centre i've ever been!! Indeed, Superior equipment and excellent instructors! They will teach you all the dive theory/skills step by step till you really understand, sometimes they even spend their spare time just for explaining the theory to you. Very patient, very professional and very helpful!! And when you lead us to the underwater world, their aim is not only for complete our course, but also for our fun, as well as our safety!! Personally, i highly recommend this dive centre to everybody who wants an awesome dive experience!! trust me, Do NOT miss it!! It's a great one ;) if there is any chance to go back India, i will have some more dives in this dive centre, Temple Adventures!!! Like it!

 

Excellent Diving in South India

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by vikash
December 22, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

They are a well run and well equipped small center. Equipment's are all top quality compared to few other dive shops i have dived with in south east Asia. They are very professional and also make you feel at home, which gives the extra personnel touch.

 

India Scuba Diving at Temple Adventures Pondicherry

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
4.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
5.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
4.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Seg
December 22, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer
View all my reviews
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

A great dive centre, with outstanding equipment. Nice and experienced instructors and assistants. A little more (10%) expensive than the other Indian based locations, but well worth it through personalities, safety and overall standards. Excellent dive sites with abundant life. Vis alright too. Enjoy Temple Adventure Scuba Diving!

 

best diving in the south of india,

Overall rating: 
 
4.9
Do you agree in general with the rating proposed by this web site?:
 
5.0
Overall Quality:
 
5.0
Punctuality:
 
5.0
Equipment Condition:
 
5.0
Staff Professionalism:
 
4.0
Safety Equipment :
 
5.0
Quality of air (purity):
 
5.0
Quality of Services:
 
5.0
Value for Money / Price Range:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by jonah skoles
December 22, 2011
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

The deep diving is amazing some of the most amazing underwater landscapes i have seen, and the staff make you feel confident and safe, and is very friendly. has some of the best maintained equipment i have seen in a dive shop and as far as safety gear there is plenty to go round.
the shallower diving will normally get you closer to fish the you have been, unless they were on you plate.. In short probably the best diving in S.india and surely the best dive shop....

 
 
Powered by JReviews